skip to main content
ABOUT Washington unified Virtual Academy (WUVA) K-8

ABOUT Washington unified Virtual Academy (WUVA) K-8

Office Hours: 7:30 - 11:30 and 12:00 - 4:00
Address: 1100 Clarendon Street
Phone Number: 916-375-7680
 
Site Administrator: Amanda Divelbiss - adivelbiss@wusd.k12.ca.us
Site Secretary II: Denise Avila - aavila@wusd.k12.ca.us
 
 
teachers & support staff

teachers & support staff

Kinder/1st Grade - Terri Sykes - tsykes@wusd.k12.ca.us
1st Grade - Jennifer McCarthy - jmccarthy@wusd.k12.ca.us
2nd Grade - Hannah Colan - hconlan@wusd.k12.ca.us
2nd/3rd Grade - Colin Contino - ccontino@wusd.k12.ca.us
3rd Grade - Erica Mendez - emendez@wusd.k12.ca.us
4th Grade - Megan Ionescu - mionescu@wusd.k12.ca.us
5th Grade - Marcus Chavez - mchavez@wusd.k12.ca.us
6-8th Grade ELA & HIstory - Kristine Koven - kkoven@wusd.k12.ca.us
6-8th Grade Math & Science - Deborah Voss - dvoss@wusd.k12.ca.us
6-8th ELD - Vanessa Raeder - vvalienteraeder@wusd.k12.ca.us vvalienteraeder@wusd.k12.ca.us  
RSP - Debra Alexander - dalexander@wusd.k12.ca.us
SPED Program Specialist - Priscilla Douglas - pdouglas@wusd.k12.ca.us
Outreach Specialist - Christine Myers - cmyers@wusd.k12.ca.us
VIRTUAL ACADEMY OVERVIEW

VIRTUAL ACADEMY OVERVIEW

Welcome to the Washington Unified Virtual Academy! Our Virtual Academy provides online learning options for all WUSD students in grades K-12 to achieve their potential and acquire the skills necessary for College and Career Readiness. 
 
The WUSD Virtual Academy is much more than a temporary replacement for in-person instruction. It is a program of choice for students searching for a platform to accelerate their learning outside of a full five-day-per-week in-person learning model for the 2021-22 school year. Our Virtual Academy program is designed to:
 
  • Enhance the educational experience of students who are thriving in a virtual learning setting(s).
  • Allow for more home and school communication and collaboration.
  • Create a new academic and social-emotional pathway for student success that transcends traditional limitations of time and space.
Virtual Academy Key components

Virtual Academy Key components

The WUSD Virtual Academy will be led by WUSD credentialed teachers trained in delivering instruction in a virtual format utilizing a variety of strategies and tools, including the following components:
 
  • Classes aligned and linked to WUSD standards, instructional minutes, curriculum, grading, expectations, and other requirements.
  • Differentiation for all students
  • Support Staff for student learning needs
  • Real-time interaction is utilized for direct instruction. However, asynchronous instruction will maximize the online learning environment for small groups or independent instruction.
Questions and More information

Questions and More information

Email Me a Copy
Verification: 
I'm not a Robot.
Thank you for your submission.